script for Apple Works 5

I am a novice scripter who needs help converting the word or character count in Apple Works 5 into column inches of copy for a newspaper. Where is the hook for that count function so I can divide it by the characters or words in one of our inches?

Alas, I don’t have Appleworks 5 (I have 4 & 6), so I can’t answer directly. Plus, I don’t understand your question. If you’d post your non-working script, I’m sure everyone here will be glad to help.

I tried the script, and if you select all the text in the document it hangs on the word number on the next line of code. It says every word of ClarisWorks(AppleWorks) does not understand count message.

“I tried the script, and if you select all the text in the document it hangs on the word number on the next line of code. It says every word of ClarisWorks(AppleWorks) does not understand count message. "
Yes. The command is being directed to the wrong object. I don’t have AW5 to test, and there have been changes in the applescript support between it and AW6, which better supports the object model.
I suggest trying two things:
change “number” to “count” (probably won’t make any difference” as in set word_count to count of words of selection
and after the line " if front document exists then" put “tell document 1” before the last “end tell” put another “end tell.” This should direct the command to proper object.

I tried what you suggested, count is in the ClarisWorks dictionary, and I think I have the syntax correct, but I am not sure. I don’t know that much about AppleScript, so I keep trying until it works(or give up). here is what it looks like now (kinda familliar though):

tell  application "ClarisWorks" -- or AppleWorks, since they should be one in the same
  if front document exists then
    --tell document 1
      if length of the selection > 0 then-- there is a selection