Script That Edits Scripts?

How do I write a script that writes or edits other scripts? I know that scripts can be written to order Script Editor to compile scripts, but I can’t find any way to, for example, replace a file address in a script with a different one. I’m new to Applescript (and scripting in general) but not terribly new to programming. I’ve searched for the answer for a while now, and I’d bet the answer is something incredibly obvious but I just can’t find it.

set the targetscript to "This:Is:An:Example:Script.scpt"
set the targetfile to "This:Is:An:Example:File.rtf"
set the replacementfile to "This:Is:Another:Example:File.rtf"

--script editing lines go here?

Model: eMac
AppleScript: 1.10.7
Browser: Firefox 3.0.10
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.4.11)

Let’s assume you have an AppleScript file on your desktop named mylib.scpt. This script just contains the following line:

property myname : "TMBG"

Now you can alter this script file by another AppleScript file with code as follows:

set mylib to load script ("Macintosh HD:Users:martin:Desktop:mylib.scpt" as alias)
display dialog mylib's myname -- will display TMBG
set mylib's myname to "They Might Be Giants"
-- saving the loaded script
store script mylib in ("Macintosh HD:Users:martin:Desktop:mylib.scpt" as alias) with replacing
-- loading it again
set mylib to load script ("Macintosh HD:Users:martin:Desktop:mylib.scpt" as alias)
display dialog mylib's myname -- will now display "They Might Be Giants"

Happy Scripting!

Edit: Thanks Martin! Didn’t notice your reply 'til after I’d posted mine though.

After pondering scripts that adjust other scripts for a while, I decided that it could be useful. In fact I’ve come up with a use. Let’s say we have a script template like this:

tell application "Finder"
	set theTarget to "TargetFile"
	set theWords to "TheWordsYouWant"
	repeat with anItem in theTarget
		set the comment of anItem to theWords
	end repeat
end tell