Script to check timesheets

Hi all. I know this i a long post, but it’s interesting… please read on.

I have no prior coding experience and this is my first attempt at an applescript. What this script does is check to see if a user has completed their timesheet. If they haven’t the script will warn them that they have not and bring them to the intranet site to do so. If they have it will wait 4 hours and check again. If after 1 warning and 2 hours later they haven’t completed their timesheet, the script will attempt to log the user out (it’s kind rough I know, but I work for a corporation).

When the user logs out the script places a file that is checked when the user logs back in. This way it knows that the user has already been told they need to logout. If after one hour the user hasn’t completed thier timesheet, the script tries to log them out agian. This continues to happen until the timesheet is completed. No open work should be left unsaved because i’m not sending any kill commands.

As an avid mac user, I am very excited about my new knowledge of applescript and also that this script works (a lot to do w/ info I found from this site!) But I am looking for suggestions on ways to make it more efficient and functional. I know my coding is not all that.

Thanks for any/all suggestions!!

Anywho, on with the scripts…

heres the script that calls the main one (don’t know why I had to do this, the main script just wouldn’t quit at logout):

STARTUP SCRIPT (startTSE.app) This is executed from /Library/Preferences/loginitems.plist

set s to "/usr/bin/osascript /private/tse/TSE.app > /dev/null 2>&1 &"
try
	do shell script s
end try
quit

END STARTUP SCRIPT

and here’s the main script:

MAIN SCRIPT (TSE.app)

set username to do shell script "whoami"
set s to "curl --connect-timeout 10 --max-time 5 http://tsenforcer/cgi-bin/query.pl?username=" & username

set theAxe to false
set warn1 to false

set r to do shell script s
if r is "" then
	repeat until r is not ""