Script to minimise all windows on desktop

Hi there

As being a windows user for so many years now, I am become familiar with the “show desktop” icon in the windows environment. I am a newbie to the whole scripting business as well as new to OSX.

I am thinking am I able to write a script to minimise all the windows that had open on the desktop?? Can somebody give me a simple code on how to minimise windows??

Further to that I am thinking to have the script to get a list of the windows that are currently open, return me with the results as a list so that I can choose which window to minimise and a button called “all” to minimise all windows. But this fantasy will be in the near furture, which at this moment I need to figure out the code to minimise window.

Thanks a lot. Appreciate!!

Cheers

Winston

This script will collapse all of the Finder windows to the Dock. Is that what you need?

tell application "Finder"
	set collapsed of every window to true
end tell

PS: It will not work if you have WindowShadeX installed, unless you turn it off.

Hi Greg,

yes this is what I wanted. But is it possible to just collapse a particular window??

like all internet explorer or finder windows??

thanks

Cheers

Winston

This should be close to what you want for Finder windows. Windows belonging to other applications will require more work on an app by app basis. This hasn’t been tested much so let me know if you encounter errors or bugs.

try
	tell application "Finder" to set winList to name of windows whose collapsed is false
on error
	display dialog "Either no Finder windows exist or all windows are collapsed." buttons {"OK"} default button 1 giving up after 5
	return
end try

copy "All" to beginning of winList

set chosenWindows to (choose from list winList with prompt "Choose windows to collapse." OK button name "Collapse" with multiple selections allowed)
if chosenWindows is false then return

if item 1 of chosenWindows is "All" then
		activate