script which creates layout (indesign) from text-file/xml?

hello!

i’m a totally newbie to this applescript stuff and the possibilities are great! programming/scripting in common isn’t a totally new world to me but i hope i can find some help out here…

i’m actually looking for a script which creates a simple 1-page-layout in indesign based on a textfile or xml file. background: I have a bunch of different textfiles each containing text information & image link/filename, and I need this text to be placed, formatted, and the image placed… and saved as an indesign file.

does anyone have a clue how to do that? :rolleyes:

your help would be really appreciated! kuni :smiley:

I have no experience with InDesign, but if it doesn’t know how to read/interpret XML files, you might want to check out XML Tools, from Late Night Software. XML Tools is a scripting addition that allows AppleScript to parse and generate XML data. You might also want to take a look at XParserLib, from the Little Page of Libraries. It is described as “Basic XML/XHTML parser; bit hokey, but should do for less ambitious tasks”.

This will likely be a difficult task for a beginner so I hope you find someone with experience to help. :slight_smile:

uh… sounds already rather scary to me :wink: thank you for your hint!

indesign can actually interpret xml files, but it can just “fill up” an existing/predefined layout, not create an entirely new one… the text/xml-file in my case also contains besides text and image information also layout information, like position or size…

but i think this should be somehow possible since indesign support almost every function w/ applescript… adobe has released a several hundred page length document about scripting indesign…

yes, InDesign will import xml, but you are right, you need a tagged document, otherwise it will just dump the info into the document structure and you will have to manually drag the info onto the page.