Scripting an "unscriptable" chat app.

I have a chat app that isn’t scriptable. I need to have the last line copyed and pasted in a different version of the same thing. is this possable. I was told that I might have to do it in OS 9. Can someone help me out. Thanks

Hi!

Most probably it is possible, but very difficult to say without knowing what are the related apps, your scripting experience, etc. Take a look here:
http://macscripter.net/faq/applications.php?id=P92
http://macscripter.net/faq/applications.php?id=P27

I have skimed over most of these things before but the thing that I dont know how to do is copy and paste the last line of text. I am new to appleScript but I have been programing for a while. I can figure the details out if I am pointed in the right direction.

Then, just visit the mentioned links and you’ll find tools to:
a) find the reference to the related text fields
b) lots of sample code to target them

there is one thing that seems really simple but I cant find it. I need to just type. I can open the app, paste things, all that but I need the equivalent of me typing in messages and then pushing return.

You’re going to have use GUI scripting (available by default in 10.3, a seperate download in 10.2). Make sureit’s enabled by going to System Preferences → Universal Access and clicking the checkbox toward the bottom labeled “Enable access for assistive devices” Now for an example, using TextEdit

tell application "TextEdit"
	activate
	tell application "System Events"
		tell process "TextEdit"
			keystroke "n" using command down
			--This opens a new window in TextEdit
			tell window 1
				keystroke "whatever you type in the quotes will be typed in the app."
				keystroke return
			end tell
		end tell
	end tell
end tell