Scripting Firefox

Hello everybody,

as you may tell from my limited number of posts (this is the first one… :)) I am fairly new to AppleScripting but already hooked…

I would like to automate some online banking I now perform manually.
As far as I can see by browsing it’s AppleScript library, Firefox has very limited scripting capabilities, still they might be sufficient…
For instance.

tell application "Firefox"
	OpenURL "http://bbs.applescript.net/viewforum.php?id=2"
end tell

will start Firefox and get the URL of the Applescript forum in MacScripter.

Now, suppose I want to login to a service (my bank account), how can that be done?
May be it’s better to refrase and ask “If” there is a way to do that?
Do we need JavaScript perhaps?
And where can I go from here?
And would it be possible to script a transaction?
If not with Firefox, could this be done with Safari?

Your help on the subject would be much appreciated :slight_smile:

Thanks in advance

/P

You need to use gui scripting which allows you to access buttons and text fileds etc in applications that are not otherwise applescriptable. Start here… http://www.apple.com/applescript/uiscripting/

Thanks regulus, for the prompt reply but…
Whow! that looks far to difficult for my limited skills. :confused:
It seems to me like I have to become first a professional programmer, in order to do what I wish.
I am sure there must be an easier way…

Perhaps somebody could come up with some, simple, practical exemples on how to login to a site Using Firefox and AppleScript and, after that, send some info?

Again, any help would be immensely appreciated.

/P

Hi KA

The GUI scripting stuff in my experience can be more tricky then normal scripting in some cases.
So my advice would be to just search this forum like crazy and be prepared to get stressed out alot.
I don’t have firefox but try something like this to start you off!:

tell application "Safari"