Scripting Internet Connect

I’m a noob and this is my first attempt at scripting.
My goal is to write a script that opens Internet Connect, clicks the AirPort tab, and clicks the “Turn AirPort Power Off” button (assuming the power is on).
Then it waits 3 seconds, and clicks the “Turn AirPort On” button.

Why? Sometimes my laptop wakes up and forgets how to connect to the wireless network. Turning the AirPort on and off frequently saves me from having to go upstairs and manually restart the router.)

When I run my script I get “NSReceiverEvaluationScriptError: 4”
Here’s what I’ve pieced together so far:

tell application “Finder”
open application file “Internet Connect.app” of folder “Applications” of startup disk
tell application “System Events”
tell process “Internet Connect”
click the menu item “Turn AirPort Off” of the menu “AirPort” of menu bar 1
end tell
end tell
end tell

Note: The “click the menu item…” is highlighted after I close the error message box.

Greetings from another noob.

How’s this?

tell application "Internet Connect"
	activate
	tell application "System Events"
		tell window 1 of process "Internet Connect"
			tell button "Airport" of tool bar 1
				click
			end tell
		end tell
	end tell
end tell

--for my benefit during testing
delay 3
tell application "Internet Connect" to quit

I noticed my attempts didn’t work if “Internet Connect” is not already running. I added the bit about quitting in case I forgot to quit “Internet Connect” before testing.

I started to add clicking the button to turn “AirPort” off then on, depending on its status, but I have other things that need doing first. You might want to keep the quit command if you do that.

j

Looking at the dictionary for Internet Connect, it seems this should work:

set AirPort power of AirPort configuration 1 to false
	delay 3
	set AirPort power of AirPort configuration 1 to true
end tell

It doesn’t work on my Intel Mac. Getting stuff like the name of the configuration doesn’t work either.