Scripting preference panes

Hi all

I have no AppleScript experience! “ Just thought I’d make that clear :smiley:

Still, into the abyss.

I would like to create a script that would make a new network location in system preferences & then set that location to make use of a remote proxy configuration file, finally making the new location the currently active one.

So far I can get System Preferences to activate with the Network pane showing but cannot get further. After viewing other scripts it appears I have to invoke System Events to manipulate the menu items & dialogue boxes, I think the problem is I am not describing the elements in the window acurately? How should I know which item is which button of which tab group etc?

If this is a) All listed on a webpage somewhere, please point me in the right direction!
or b) Way beyond a AS newbie like me, then please, put me out of my misery! :wink:

Any help gratefully appreciated,

Stephen

Model: White 2GHz MacBook
AppleScript: 1.10.7
Browser: Safari 419.3
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.4)

this I have found to be a useful tool
http://developer.apple.com/samplecode/UIElementInspector/index.html

it will help you to figure out what is what and you can use the system events dictionary to to figure out the use of syntax

hope this helps

Model: MacBook Pro (intel core dou)
Browser: Firefox 2.0

I don’t know how to make a new location, but if you have several fully set up then you can find out which one is active with this:

to getLocNames()
	set locNames to {}
	try
		do shell script "scselect"
	on error Loc
	end try
	set myLocs to paragraphs 2 thru -2 of Loc
	repeat with aLoc in myLocs
		set tid to AppleScript's text item delimiters
		set AppleScript's text item delimiters to "("
		set temp to last text item of aLoc
		set AppleScript's text item delimiters to tid
		if "*" is in contents of aLoc then
			set end of locNames to "*" & text 1 thru -2 of temp
		else
			set end of locNames to text 1 thru -2 of temp
		end if