Scripting Print Dialogue Box Options in PhotoShop

Okay, I’m a newbie here and am blown away by the depth of knowledge, dedication and generosity shown on this site. It’s an incredible resource for even a “code-adverse” creative director type like myself.

I’ve been trying to script a workflow and have been having a devil of a time getting past one step where it consistently hangs. In a nutshell:

1. RAW photo images from a DSLR camera tethered to a MacBook Pro are automatically downloaded to a “Watch Folder”
  2. Every new image added to the folder invokes a script which opens Photoshop, activates an action that applies some adjustments, then prints to a specified printer with specific page setup options
  3. Image file is then saved as a jpeg to a designated folder

I’ve tried using Automator as a simple solution, bypassing Photoshop and opening files in Preview just to see if I could get something to work on my own, but the “Print” action will not allow me to specify which printer and paper handling so it hangs.

I have also tried recording the print dialogue selections in Photoshop but get the warning that not all features and selections are recordable as an action and that has shown to be proven true when I run it.

I’ve seen some other posts that allude to Applescripting the Print Dialogue options to print as pdf’s but nothing on selecting some other specific external printer.

Any suggestions as to what a script might look like to achieve what I’ve described? My attempt is too embarrassing to post.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

-Kevin

Model: MacBook Pro 2.66 OSX10.6.4
AppleScript: 2.1.2
Browser: Safari 533.16
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.6)

Hello.
If you manage to save the file in a format that suits you for printing, then this thread may help.

Hello

I looked at the pointed thread and tried to use the grabbed infos.

When I issue this command :