Scripting with 'networksetup' command utility [noob question]

I’m trying to write a simple script so that I can connect to the network of my choice without having to open Terminal. I’m a complete novice when it comes to writing scripts so forgive me for asking for help for such an issue.

The command line that I would write in terminal would be the following:

Now I just need to find out how to make a script so that I can link it to a key command and not have to open up Terminal. Thank you for the consideration!

-A

The absolutely easiest thing would be to create an Automator Service, with a shell script action in it where you’d paste your script. When you have saved your Service then you could assign a short cut key to in System Preferences^Keyboard^Services.

Right, but I’d like to have the shortcut key run the command line without having terminal open up. Is that possible through automator?

edit: what I’m basically asking is how I can run a shell script “behind the scenes.”

Hello.

I just told you how to run a shell script behind the scenes. With a shortcut key too.

Just have a little bit confidence, and try my suggestion. :slight_smile:

HI.

The English name of the Automator action for McUsrII’s suggestion is “Run Shell Script” and it’s in Automator’s “Utilities” library.

Or in AppleScript, you could try:

do shell script "networksetup -setairportnetwork en1 PacMan ***********" with administrator privileges

I haven’t tried it myself, but I assume the administrator privileges will be necessary.

Ok, sorry MacUsrII, I didn’t know Automator runs shell scripts. Now I do. Thank you. And thank you for pointing that out Nigel.

I am not sure, haven’t tried it either, but what I do have, is a series of preferred networks, that I have an account for, so I basically just turn on Airport via an applet, invoked by spotlight, that obviates the need for an administrator privileges, as all of that is taken care of up front.