Scripting with root--transfer of user files

Hi all

I’m very new to the MacScripter forum and almost just as new to Applescript. I’m trying to create a script to help my IT switch over to remote login and part of the process is moving old users files from a user named username to a new user specified with their specific username. However, I’m having trouble accomplishing the correct permissions. I want the script to login as root using sudo -s and an admin password(which works fine in Terminal) but right now the script is running everything in the admin password without doing the sudo login and I come back with no permissions to do the copy from one user to another. This is what I have so far and I hope someone can point me in the direction of what I’m doing wrong.

tell application “Terminal”
do shell script “sudo -s” password “nimda” with administrator privileges
script “mkdir /Users/orr;
cp -R /Users/username/* /Users/orr;
chown -R orr /Users/orr;
exit”
end tell

I’m operating on OS 10.3 because that is the main OS on which we’re making these adjustments. Any suggesetions or comments?

Model: Quicksilver Tower G4 800 MHz
AppleScript: 2.0
Browser: Safari 312
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.3.9)

You shouldn’t have to use Terminal (or sudo) to do this:

do shell script "mkdir /Users/orr; cp -R /Users/username/* /Users/orr; chown -R orr /Users/orr" with administrator privileges

That got rid of a lot of my error messages for permissions but I still had permissions denied on the Movies folder for some reason and the actual cp command didn’t do anything. I seem to have no problem with creating the folder but all the commands after that don’t take much effect.

I’m having a similar problem, I think.
I have this line in my script to toggle TivoDesktop on and off from my script menu:
do shell script “SystemStarter start TiVoDesktop” with administrator privileges

After checking if the TiVoDesktop process is already on with: