Search for folder name on volume and move files

Hi!

I am working on organizing our files on our servers and I want to move folders from one volume to another. I would like this to be automated so that when folders are dropped into my source folder ‘Archive’ they will automatically be moved over to our new volume.

The folders on both volumes will have the same names.
Source folder: Users:UserA:Desktop:Archive:ABC_123
Destination volume: Volumes:Production:Titles: (then it needs to find the right folder in here)

eg: folder name “ABC_123” has subfolders within named “ABC_123_low” and “ABC_123_high”.
I would like it to search my destination volume for the folder named “ABC_123” and move “ABC_123_low” and “ABC_123_high” into that folder.

Thanks for the help, I am new at scripting and I have been searching for forums for moving files but really haven’t found one that will do the search and move as I was hoping to do it.

Soo, when you drag a folder named ABC123 into the folder “source/archive”, then you want the subfolders of ABC123 to be moved to “destination/ABC123”?
And the subfolders of ABC123 have the files?

Please make another example then I’ll see what I can do.

Yes thats it exactly! Is this the information you need?

Folder:
ABC123
Subfolders:
ABC123_low
ABC123_high

Source Folder location:
Macintosh HD:Users:UserA:Desktop:Archive:

Destination Where folders get moved to:

Find folder named ABC123 within Volumes:Production:Titles:

and move folders ABC123_low, ABC123_high into folder ABC123

Thanks!

Courtney

Ok, here it is. Try to understand it, that will help you more than just using it.
The actual moving around is done with a shell command because it’s faster and easier.

on adding folder items to thisFolder after receiving addedItems
	set inputPath to "path:to:folder"
	set outputPath to "path:to:folder"
	-- get the name of the folder
	set theFolder to (addedItems as text)