Set path based on filename

Hi all,

Newbie here… Did some digging but came up empty. I want to be able to select multiple files and have each file moved to a different location. I want the location to be determined by the filename. For example: a file named Finance-smithb_mileage.doc would get saved to a folder called smithb inside of a Finance folder. So it would create the save to path based on parts of the filename. This way, if I have 10 different mileage forms from 10 different users, I can have those files automatically saved to their folder once I am done working on them. I hope this makes sense. Any help is appreciated!

Makes perfect sense.

Something like this:

set FileName to "Finance-smithb_mileage.doc"
set tid to AppleScript's text item delimiters
set AppleScript's text item delimiters to "-"
set TI to text items of FileName
set FileType to item 1 of TI
set AppleScript's text item delimiters to "_"
set Person to first text item of item 2 of TI
set AppleScript's text item delimiters to tid
{FileType, Person} --> {"Finance", "smithb"}

Hi,

assuming that all your files have exactly the same structure xxxxxx-yyyyyy_zzzzzz.ext
try this droplet, save it as application and drop the files onto it.
The first time, or if you double click the droplet, you will asked for the base folder.
Set the property deleteOriginals to true, if you want to delete the files after being copied.

Note: the shell command ditto works like cp, but it creates silently all needed folders in the path, which don’t exist

property baseFolder : missing value
property deleteOriginals : false

on run
	set baseFolder to choose folder with prompt "Choose base folder"
end run

on open theItems
	if baseFolder is missing value then set baseFolder to choose folder with prompt "Choose base folder"
	set TID to text item delimiters
	repeat with oneItem in theItems
		set text item delimiters to ":"
		set Nm to last text item of (oneItem as text)
		set text item delimiters to "-"