Setting font in Illustrator CS2

AS noob here!
I’m trying to create a little text-frame with some time-stamp info and positon it in a psuedo-slug area just off the artboard. So far so good, but I’ve been unable to figure out how to set the font and point size for this text frame.

A short code snippet or two showing how the font (and point size) is to be SET for a given text frame would be of great help. This is created early in the life of the file and most likely will be frame 1.

=Alan R.

Model: PowerPC G5
AppleScript: 1.10.6
Browser: Safari 417.9.3
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.4)

Hi

this is a section of a script i have it will mean nothing to you i guess but has most of the bits you may need to help with
your script.

tell application "Illustrator CS"
	activate
	set docref to make new document with properties {height:840, width:595}
	set thisdoc to current document
	set ruler origin of document 1 to {0.0, 0.0}
	set zoom of view 1 of document 1 to 1.3
	if not (exists swatch "Black" in current document) then
		make new color at beginning of current document with properties ¬
			{name:black, CMYK color info:{cyan:0, magenta:0, yellow:0, black:100}}
	end if
	make new character style in thisdoc with properties {name:"style1"}
	make new character style in thisdoc with properties {name:"style2"}
	set the size of character style "style1" of thisdoc to 10
	tell thisdoc
		set the fill color of character style "style1" of thisdoc to {class:CMYK color info, cyan:0, magenta:0, yellow:0, black:100}
	end tell
	set the text font of character style "style1" of thisdoc to text font "Helvetica"
	make new text frame in thisdoc with properties {name:"text1", position:{25, 800}, contents:((current date) as text) & return & return & "Job Number:" & myjobnumber & return & return & "Paul" & return}
	apply character style character style "style1" of thisdoc to text range of text frame "text1" of thisdoc

set the size of character style "style2" of thisdoc to 12
	tell thisdoc