Setting up script for school macs

Hi, I’m new to applescripting. I’ve been reading the beginner’s tutorial (which is very helpful, btw) and I’m about done with it now so I have some idea of how applescripting works. Anyways, I’m working for the computer center at my college over the summer and we have a number of random things to do – cleanup, organizing, logistics sort of stuff. One of the assignments I was given was to learn applescript (pretty sweet job, eh?) and then create scripts that will be put in all our macs and which do 2 things:

1. It has to retrieve the user’s account from the school’s server. We have to log into all our computers with our accounts, macs or not, so the macs are already connected to the school’s server under the user’s info. The only thing is that their user folder on the server isn’t easily accessible. I think this script should be easy enough. I played around with the record function on the scripter and it would be very easy to bring up my user folder. The only thing I have to do to the record code is to replace the directory “student 06” and then folder “schen” to whatever happens to be the current user’s account info. So I need a way to retrieve that information, set it to a variable, and replace the directory designations.
  2. The other script I have to make is to set up a whole standard or prototype setting for every mac for when students log on. That is, there is a certain background, certain applications available, certain things on the desktop, etc. that comes as default for all students who log in (then I’d assume we’d make a different one for faculty and then staff). This seems to me considerably harder to do than the first script because I’ll need to learn a lot of different commands to do the variety of things we need to set up.
    Then of course, I’ll have to set it up so these scripts run upon a user’s logging in. We can then freeze the computer so nobody can mess with the script.