Simple Duplicate/Overwrite AppleScript

I am trying to create an Apple Script so that the com.apple.dock.plist file is overwritten by one of my choice, then the dock restarts. every-time a user logs in. This way I can keep the docks looking the same computer to computer.

This is what I am trying, but nothing is happening
tell application “Finder”

duplicate file “source file here?” to folder “What would I put here so the current users com.apple.dock.plist is overwritten by the one of my choice”
replacing
true

end tell

Should I also be employing something like this?

set CurrentUser to do shell script “whoami”

set ThePath to “/Users/” & CurrentUser & “/Library/Preferences/”

Basically I need my com.apple.dock.plist to be overwritten to users/currentuser/library/preferences -so first I need the current user to be found

Sorry this is a very beginner-ish question. I am new to Apple script.

Thanks!

Hi,

try this

set userPrefFolder to path to preferences -- the preferences folder of the current user
set myDockPrefs to (choose file without invisibles)
quit application "Dock"
tell application "Finder" to duplicate myDockPrefs to userPrefFolder replacing yes
launch application "Dock"

I feel so newbish for asking this question

Will using the “userpreffolder” section copy the file to the current users preferences regardless of what user just logged in? I want this script to be universal as it will be deployed in a lab situation

The path to preferences portion, would I put somethings like /users/ … or?

Thank you!

Yes, path to preferences points always to [startup disk]:Users:[current user]:Library:Preferences:

I don’t however want to write a script for each user. I need it to be universal as it will run at startup, or am I missing something in your explanation?

What part of this script should I be actually editing?

the script is universal, it works regardless of the name of the startup disk and the name of the current user

Stefan,