Simple script for Terminal commands

Hi!
I am a noob at scripting and I tried to make a script wich opens terminal, types a command of my choice and closes terminal.
I have just managed to have my script open terminal.
anyone has any idea on how to solve it?
any help is really apreciated!
Regards,
Wonkah

Hi Wonkah,

AppleScript code like follows should do the trick:

tell application "Terminal"
	activate
	do script "ls -a"
	delay 2
	quit
end tell

You can also consider to use the «do shell script» command, so you don’t need to open the Terminal at all:

set output to do shell script "ls -a"

thanks very much.
one more question though,
If i want to do anything with root privilegies (sudo) i need to type in my password. is it possible to have the script doing that aswell?
thanks!

The «do shell script» can execute a shell script or command with administrator privileges:

set output to (do shell script "ls -a" user name "wonkah" password "¢¢¢¢¢¢¢¢" with administrator privileges)

Awesome! thank you!

Btw, is there any templates for dynamic scripts (scripts using customizable settings so that the user can change them without having to go into script edit)?
for example I want a script to change my airport MAC Adress so when i run the script i get a dialogue box saying; “MAC-Adress:” and i am able o type in the adress I want and then press confirm and the script runs according to what i type.
Is it very complicated?
Thanks in advance!
/Wonkah

No, in AppleScript this is quite easy:

property mytitle : "MAC-O-Address"

on run
	try
		set macaddress to my getmacaddress()
		if macaddress is missing value then return
		set command to "phantasy command " & macaddress
		set output to (do shell script command user name "martin" password "newton42" with administrator privileges)
	on error errmsg number errnum
		tell me
			activate