simple variable problem

i have a script that will change the value of a text field, if it is less than a certain numner. However, it only kestrokes “1”, rather than the original value + 1. Does anyone know why?

set timeValue to value of text field 3 of tab group 1 of group 1 of sheet 1 of window 1
		set timeValue1 to (timeValue + 1)
		if timeValue is less than 21 then
			tell application "System Events"
				tell process "CronniX"
					keystroke timeValue1
				end tell
			end tell
		end if

I’m a newbie here, and a wee-baby AppleScript coder … but I hope that in trying to work through others’ problems I’ll improve my own knowledge. So please take this all with a grain of salt and as well intentioned, if not based on a whole lot of knowledge.

Disclaimers over …

Could it be that your timeValue is not the type of value to which 1 can be added to make a usable timeValue1?
I don’t know what the value of your “text field 3 of tab group 1 of group 1 of sheet 1 of window 1” is going to be but, given that it’s a text field, might it be a string?
Your script seems to work OK when I replace “value of text field 3 of tab group 1 of group 1 of sheet 1 of window 1” with a number. Maybe you can coerce your “value of text field 3 of tab group 1 of group 1 of sheet 1 of window 1” to be the right sort of entity for adding 1 to … and maybe I’m away off with the pixis :slight_smile:

Cheers
Dougal

Applescript will coerce a string into a number so it might not be that which is causing you trouble. ie…

set x to "3"
x + 3

What could be happening is, and this is just a guess, is that any number over 9 is actually two keystrokes. You can’t have a keystroke that is ‘10’ - it’s actually a keystroke ‘1’ then ‘0’.

You can keystroke more than one character:

tell application "System Events" to keystroke (return & return & "Now is the time for all good men")

To get keystroke to work you need: keystroke timeValue1 as text

Ok, I founf part of the problem. It works great like this: