small and easy question [Delete file]

heya, im a bit new to this stuff and ive been browsing your forums and learning etc.
but i have a quick question
lets say i have a folder on my desktop, and inside that folder i have a certain file.

can i make a script to go in and delete the file within the folder?

Hi

if you know the name of the file yes!
you can hardcode that into your script if not just choose it using something like this

tell application "Finder"
	set p to (choose file) --alias
	delete p
end tell

Hi,

welcome to MacScripter :slight_smile:

this is quite easy.
assuming the name of your folder is “myFolder” and the name of the file is “myFile”

tell application "Finder" to delete file "myFile" of folder "myFolder"

or

tell application "Finder" to delete file "myFolder:myFile"

Note: this works only, if the folder is on desktop (which is the “root” folder of the Finder),
otherwise you must specify the whole path

Hello,

Note that the root folder is the startup disk and not the desktop. You shouldn’t use partial references as the root folder might change with AS versions.

gl,

ah ok cool. thanks for the fast replies!

Actually, Kel. Stefan’s right. If a path begins with a name other than that of a mounted disk, the Finder takes the first element in the path to be an item on the user’s desktop. It’s always done that. If a disk and a desktop item have the same name, the disk takes priority.

Hi Nigel,

This might be os specific then. Can you test this out and see which folder is deleted?

make new folder at desktop with properties {name:"myFolder"}
	duplicate result to startup disk
	delete item "myFolder"
end tell

Thanks,

Slight misunderstanding I think, kel. Nigel means that, if you have a folder on your desktop with the same name as that of a disk, then specifying item/folder will return the disk “ rather than the folder of the same name. (However, that doesn’t change the fact that the desktop is still Finder’s default object.)