software update

Hi

I was wondering if someone might know an Applescript to launch and execute software update as the local Administrator. I am a systems administrator and we have recently set up and configured proxy servers.

Unfortunately i cannot use softwareupdate -i -a because that command doesn’t go through the proxy server and tries to go direct to the firewall and gets refused. For security i don’t want to open any rules in the firewall especially running as root.

I have worked out how to allow the Gui of software update to run once logged on as administrator and when the keychain asks to allow access to the proxy server it doesn’t matter to click deny it goes through anyway.

My problem is that at the moment i have to go to every single machine, log on as Administrator and run the software udate with loads of machines. I would like for the users to have an Applescript as a run only app when they double click it the softwareupdate launches not asking for Administrator authentication.

If anyone has an ideas i would be very grateful.

Is “softwareupdate -i -a” a shell command and can it pass along those passwords when run? If so couldn’t you have a local applescript on the computer do a shell script. You might then be able to set up a rule in your mail application to launch the applescript when it receives a certain message so all you have to do is send a bulk e-mail to all your computers with the subject line “run software update”.

like i said softwareupdate -i -a doesn’t go through the proxy and goes straight to the Firewall. So that will not work i need a script which will launch the software update GUI and ketstroke the Admin cradentials… please

so far i have this

tell application “Finder”
activate

open application file “Software Update.app” of folder
“CoreServices” of folder “Library” of folder “System”
of startup disk

end tell

The problem i have now is to click the install X items and keystroke the username and password