Sort a contact card's emails display order with AppleScript?

Hi,
I’ve been teaching myself AppleScript by trying to manipulate contacts data. Below is my first ever script (I have some vba and old C++ background).

I have a few questions:

1. This works fine for a small selection of contacts, but seems to crash after a while for about 2000 contacts. I run it from the editor. Any ideas to make it more stable?
  2. How can I create a contact group from inside a tell person / end tell statement? (cf “Unknown labels”)
  3. I’d like to recyle this code to do the same thing with phone numbers, dates, and relationship fields (I use those to store string data, like category, where we met, referred by, …) I don’t know how to create some sort of call function like sort_fields(field_type, label 1, label 2, label 3, …, label n) any ideas?

Thanks!

tell application "Contacts"

-- set thePeople to selection
set thePeople to people
repeat with aPerson in thePeople
tell aPerson

set work_labels to {}
set home_labels to {}
set other_labels to {}
set unknown_labels to {}

set home_values to {}
set work_values to {}
set other_values to {}
set unknown_values to {}

-- Sort emails into lists based on labels
repeat with anEmail in emails
tell anEmail
set theLabel to label
if theLabel is "work" then
set work_labels to work_labels & "work"
set work_values to work_values & value
else if theLabel is "home" then
set home_labels to home_labels & "home"
set home_values to home_values & value
else if theLabel is "other" then
set other_labels to other_labels & "other"
set other_values to other_values & value
else
set unknown_labels to unknown_labels & theLabel
set unknown_values to unknown_values & value
end if
end tell
end repeat

-- if unknown_labels is not equal to {} then
-- add aPerson to group "Unknown labels" of application "Contacts"
-- end if

-- This part will place "work" emails first, then "home, ... etc.
set all_labels to work_labels & home_labels & other_labels & unknown_labels