(Sort of ) newbie question - trouble with button on panel

Hmm…

okay, appearantly it’s been a while since I logged in the last time… :slight_smile: And I’m no newbie, neither to AppleScript nor to coding in general. But I’m pretty new to AppleScript Studio apps, and have a little problem with getting a sheet/panel to work.

Here’s the situation:

I’ve got a little application that, at one point, brings up a sheet, using this code:

display window "panel" attached to window "mainWindow"

This is working alright. Now, the panel’s got an “OK” button on it, and as soon as I click that little sucker the trouble begins:

Behaves as if I forgot to specify a handler for the “on clicked” or “on panel ended” events, doesn’t it? But I did! Here’s what I’ve already checked:

• “on clicked” and “on panel ended” handlers present in application script
  • (AppleScript-) name of “OK” button correct, button has “on clicked” handler and connection to application script checked in it’s AppleScript properties in IB
  • panel window name correct, has connection to application script
  • window “mainWindow” has “on panel ended” handler checked in IB and is connected to application script as well

Ideas, anyone?

Greetings,
danB

The first problem I see is in the syntax of your display command. I think the correct syntax for your case is to use the ‘display panel’ command rather than the ‘display’ command…

display panel (window "panel") attached to window "mainWindow"

It’s surprises me that the code you posted actually works. The display command by itself is really for plain dialogs, alerts, etc. It’s not really meant for panel windows. On this same note, make sure that you’re using an actual ‘panel’, and not a regular ‘window’ object.