Speeding up InDesign script

Hello. Can anyone offer any advice on the following …

I’m new to Applescripting, and I’ve created an Applescript that performs a Find/Change on all open InDesign (CS5.5) documents, using the contents of a tab-delimited text file stored on a local server. The script works fine, but is there anyway I can speed up its operation?

One issue is that there isn’t any feedback in the script: it’s currently run with the Find/Change dialog visible so that the actual terms can be seen as each doc is searched, giving a basic kind of feedback. I know this slows it down, but until I can find a way of giving users a visual indication of what the script is doing, or at least where it’s at in the process, I can’t think of an easier method.

So, aside from hiding anything on-screen that would indicate the Find/Change taking place, can my code be ‘enhanced’

Here’s the relevant Find/Change bit …

-- We're getting there... create a list from the text file
		repeat with i from 1 to count of findReplaceList
			set item i of findReplaceList to every text item of item i of findReplaceList
		end repeat
		set AppleScript's text item delimiters to {ASTID}

-- And tell InDesign to Find/Replace using our lists
		tell application "Adobe InDesign CS5.5" -- NOTE: you'll need to alter this line to your CS version
			activate

-- Clear Find/Replace options and setup. Note that whilst all options are included here,
			-- some are commented-out, so please set those you wish below.

--Clear the find/change preferences.
			-- set find text preferences to nothing
			-- set change text preferences to nothing

-- Set the find options.
			set case sensitive of find change text options to false
			set include footnotes of find change text options to true
			set include hidden layers of find change text options to false
			set include locked layers for find of find change text options to false
			set include locked stories for find of find change text options to false