Starting and hiding applications

Hi Scripters,

I’m quite new to the Apple programming/scripting language as I had a Windows machine long time and used VB, VBA and VBS there.

Recently, I created a script, which starts 2 applications (Adium and Skype) simultaneously. The cause is simple: I have a Logitech Elite keyboard with exact one Messenger/SMS button and I wish to put this into use effectively, starting not one but all used IM applications (in the current situation 2).

Starting an application on its own is quite simple and I achieved it already. The tough part is now to get the windows hidden by closing them. Both applications support this without quitting and the commands I also already figured out. Giving enough delay after starting, this works fine. However, it is not exactly what I had in mind as the script runs for quite some time to give the applications enough time to start up even under busy conditions (letting it run too long under non-busy conditions).

As I experienced that, if an application is already open, the script is not opening the primary window by ‘re-launching’ it. Hence, the script runs into an error.

Trying further, I created not only a condition to verify, if the window exists, but also a loop to shorten the script runtime. So, the script retries every 5 seconds to close the windows putting in a variable that indicates, whether the script already closed the window of that application to provide the information if all windows have been closed to end the loop.
That, however, led into other issues: Not only does Skype obviously ‘emulate’ the open buddy window even as it is closed running through that condition and sets the variable without closing the window as it appears after the script comes to that line, I, as of now, fail to understand how to increase a variable in a loop to prevent the loop from running indefinitely*).