Suggestions for a somewhat complicated photo import

hello all…let me preface by saying I am a total newbie to this scripting thing, but I understand how powerful it can be. I’m a professional photographer and have a normal convention for importing photos that I would like to automate if possible. Basically what I want to do is put in a CF card, then start my automation which would open the disk (Nikon D200) open the “DCIM” folder and rename that next folder (102ND200) to the name of the first file in it and the last file in it, for example: “CWM_7011-CWM_7134” then have it label that folder red and then copy it into the pictures folder. I can get it to do everything except rename the folder. Any and all suggestions are welcome. Thanks so much, if we can get this to work it will INCREDIBLY increase my workflow on set.

Hi,

try this (just an AppleScript, no Automator action):

property CFcard : "Nikon D200:DCIM:"
property hotfolder : "102ND200"
set picFolder to path to pictures folder

tell application "Finder"
	if not (exists folder (CFcard & hotfolder)) then
		display dialog "Folder " & quote & hotfolder & quote & " not found" buttons {"Cancel"} default button 1
		return
	end if
	tell folder (CFcard & hotfolder) to set {label index, name, f} to {2, my strip_name(first file) & "-" & my strip_name(last file), it as alias}
	move f to picFolder
end tell

on strip_name(f)
	set {name:Nm, name extension:Ex} to info for (f as alias)
	if Ex is missing value then return Nm
	return text 1 thru ((count Nm) - (count Ex) - 1) of Nm
end strip_name

you can even automate the whole thing when the CF card is inserted
using launchd. Take a look at Craig Smith’s launchd article

Hi Stefen,

I think the folder “102ND200” is one in a series that will be created by the camera each time the folder reaches a set limit of contents.

So the next folder would be “103NDxxx” I think the number normally goes up to “999NDxxx” then I think either resets or