Tabbed Webview

Does anyone know if you can create tabs with Webview? I’d like to have two buttons at the top of my Webview screen, and have these act as two seperate tabs for webpages so that I may go back and forth between the two and have them saved there. Is that even possible with AppleScript Studio?

Use NSTabView and create a new WebView instance for each tab you create.

I’m pretty new to AppleScript, how do I create a NSTabView. Also, I have to make sure that when I look up something on one website and switch to another tab for another website, that when I switch back to the first website, it’s not actually retrieving the website again because I’m creating this for a website that charges me money each time I do a lookup on it.

Just like you would any other UI element in Interface Builder, by dragging one into your window. You may want to start here:

http://developer.apple.com/documentation/AppleScript/Conceptual/StudioBuildingApps/index.html

Read the guide and do the tutorials. When you’re done, go here:

http://developer.apple.com/documentation/AppleScript/Reference/StudioReference/sr4_container_suite/sr_container.html
and
http://macscripter.net/articles/462_0_10_0_C/

Additionally, several Studio of the examples included with the developer tools demonstrate how to use tab views.

thank you mikey-san … found what I needed in there. I’ve actually been looking for a walk-through tutorial site like that … I never thought to actually check Apple’s developer website.

ok, I thought I had it working but apparently I don’t. I can’t get the WebView to load in Tab View.

Here’s my script.

on clicked theObject

GetURL()
end clicked

on end editing theObject
	GetURL()
end end editing

on GetURL()

tell window "main"

set theURL to "http://www.google.com" as text

try
			set newString to (call method "stringByAddingPercentEscapesUsingEncoding:" of theURL with parameter 30)