Table View Project Help

Hi there,

This is my first Applescript Studio project and I’m having a few beginner issues…

I’m a technician who fixes Macs and I’m seeing the need for a program that will display a list of apps installed on the machine, allow me to check off several of them, then begin opening and quitting them one after the other. Repeating endlessly or until so many repetitions have occured. Here is what I have so far:

on awake from nib theObject

global myData
	global myList

tell application "Finder"
		set myData to the name of application files in the entire contents of folder "Applications" of startup disk
	end tell

set myList to every item of myData

set theDataSource to make new data source at end of data sources with properties {name:"Applications"}

tell theDataSource

make new data column at end of data columns of theDataSource with properties {name:"application", sort order:ascending}
		set sort column of theDataSource to data column "application" of theDataSource
	end tell

set data source of theObject to theDataSource
	append theDataSource with myList
	make new data column at end of data columns of theDataSource with properties {name:"test"}
end awake from nib

What this has done is pull up the list of apps and populate it into a table with a column of checkboxes to the left of each app. So far so good. Here’s where I’m stuck…

• The list appears to be sorting by directory. In other words, Apps located inside the Application directory are sorted A-Z, then below is all the Apps found in the Adobe Acrobat folder from A-Z, etc.

• When I check a checkbox, the app name next to it changes to a 1, when I uncheck it, it changes to a 0. Obviously both undesirable.

• The list is too thorough. I’d like it to only pull up “.app” files and it’s including “.exe” as well

If someone could help me overcome these things, I might be able to get the rest on my own. I’m just having such a problem locating good info about checkboxes.

Thanks in advance!