Table View Question

Like Craig’s Table View Demo, he used NSImage to put a green indicator image and a red indicator image to show the status of books. I wanted to learn about Table View and make a small little task application. I want to have those 2 images as statuses of a task, but have them change by clicking on the image in the Table.
Would I use a notification method? Do I need to add more classes?
What notification method would I use? How would I change it in the data source as a table?

Hi,

I recommend to use NSButtonCell instead of NSImageCell.
Make the button shape invisible and assign the image via Cocoa bindings.

OK… Now I got a check mark (which is OK, I’m only a beginner) with a removed title. Now there is a “Status” column with check marks that are properly checked (I removed the NSImage part in Xcode). What do I do to have a action called when a check mark is checked?

I made a tiny project in Objective-C to show how to bind the state of NSButtonCell in NSTableView.
It uses NSArrayController and a custom class. The code is very primitive, no error handling at all.

You can download it here

Hope it helps

Great! This is too strange for me to translate. D:
I’ll see, ask for help when needed.

A few questions:

1. What is the - (id)init in ASOC? Is it just on init() ?
  2. What are
[super init];

and

[super dealloc];

and

- (NSImage *)statusImage

I KNOW I’m not going to get a response.

The bit in parentheses before the method name is the type returned by the method. id is a sort of object wildcard.

[super init] translates as roughly “continue init()”. But the role of init is to give initial values to properties in Objective-C, whereas AppleScript properties already have an initial value. So there’s usually no need for an init() in AS classes.

dealloc does nothing in in garbage collected apps, so you can skip that too.

and