the starting of an application should start a second application

hello

while the user starts an application a pfd helpfile should open up automatically. how can this be done with apple script?

thanks a lot for your answer

simon

Hi Simon,

this opens the PDF with the application, which is specified in the Finder Information window

tell application "Finder" to open "path:to:document.pdf"

this forces Preview.app to open the PDF

tell application "Finder" to open "path:to:document.pdf" using (path to application "Preview")

first of all thanks for your answer. although i’m not totally sure whether you got my answer. it’s not only that i would like to open a pdf file, i want to open two applications at the same time: the main program and a pdf program to open a help file, so when the user launches the main program the help file is open right from the start.
i’m totally new to apple script, but i could imagine that it must be solved with a if-then-relation?

simon

Hi simon,

the quality of the answer depends often on the quality of the question. :wink:

Do you want to

¢ write an AppleScript application which opens the PDF file while launching?
¢ have a stay open script, which poll the processes and opens the PDF file, when a certain application launches?
¢ write a script, which launches the application and opens the PDF file?

(at least) three options, how should we know, what your’re going to accomplish

hello stefan

you’re right! i was not very clear with my first question. thanks for your patience! i guess it’s our second proposal that i would like to realise.
concrete situation: the user clicks on the icon of application a (a database program) - the click opens application a and at the same time starts application b (acrobat reader oder preview) which shows a pfd help file. my intention is, that the user doesn’t have to search for the help file - it’s present and visible with the launching of the database program.