Tieing input text to variables in Interface Builder

I’m new to this whole thing so I apologize if this is very obvious and I’m just overlooking it.

I’m trying to tie the input from two fields I have created to variables, then pass those variables to a shell script. This is what I have so far:

Click for picture

So I would like to tie what ever is passed in to the two fields as two separate variables and then when I click Search it would pass them to the shell command find $PATH -name ‘$FILENAME’ So in the case of my image it would search the Volume Share for files named picture.jpg. I’ve tried reading the manual for IB but don’t know where to start. Is this a binding? How do I assign it to a variable? How do I tie the find command to the Search button? As you can tell I’m definitely a newb, but I want to learn this stuff. So any help would be greatly appreciated.

Hi,

I recommend to read the Currency Converter Tutorial

Thank you for that link. It has gotten me 99% of the way there (I think). I am having an issue though, In my fields that are just text I don’t know what set them as? I tried set as string and I tried set as text and I get an error saying it can’t set them as string or Unicode text. Here is what I have so far:

on clicked theObject
	tell window of theObject

set thePath to contents of text field "path" as text
		set thePathPP to POSIX path of thePath

set theFilename to contents of text field "filename" as text
		if length of thePathPP is greater than 1 and thePathPP ends with "/" then set thePathPP to text 1 through -2 of thePathPP

set findCmd to "find " & quoted form of thePathPP & " -iname " & "*" & quoted form of theFilename & "*" & " -print;true"
		set findResults to do shell script findCmd

set theMatches to paragraphs of findResults
		set chosenPaths to choose from list theMatches with prompt "Matching Items: " & length of theMatches with empty selection allowed and multiple selections allowed