Timbuktu and applescript help... PLEASE

Hello All

I’m a software developer for a School Board in Ontario.
I’ve developed a nice filemaker solution for our boards service techs.

I want to integrate timbuktu connectivity into my app via AppleScript.
I’m finding it very very hard to understand AppleScript’s syntax.
I’ve used the record feature in Apple’s Script Editor to try and get a better understanding but would love to have some code example, which are specific to Timbuktu.

In the end all I would like the script to do is open timbuktu and connect to a specified machine with out any user interaction. I’ve looked at Timbuktu’s Apple Script Dictionary and can see the application keywords I need to use to accomplish this but don’t have the understanding of how to properly use them with in AppleScripts Syntax.

I’ve searched the web for hours and haven’t come up with anything so any help would be greatly appreciated.

thanks
Jordan

The following script will initiate a new control session using Timbuktu.

tell application "Timbuktu Pro"
	activate
	make new control session connecting to internet address {internet name:"host.domain.dom", connecting as:"username", with password:"secretword"} when rejected let user reenter
end tell

Fortunately, Timbuktu supports AppleScript recording, and that’s one of the easiest ways to learn controlling this application - TB2’s dictionary, while comprehensive, isn’t the most logically constructed.

Thanks Camelot for the tip it worked perfectly!

Do you know if I can tickle a timbuktu client connection via applescript?

I want to be able to tell if the user is online so to speak from my filemaker app via applescript

if the user is online then the option to connect to the user’s machine via timbuktu would be highlighted

:slight_smile:

The following code will give you a list of all current sessions on the remote machine.

set theMachine to "eppc://host.domain.dom"
tell application "Timbuktu Pro" of machine theMachine