Total beginner here - email contents of a textedit doc?

Hi there - I’m just starting to look into learning a little applescript because automator can’t seem to do what I want, which is eventually to email the contents of a text file to the same address on a schedule. I’ve got a smart folder with only one text document in it that changes, say, every week, so every week I would like to be able to paste the contents of that text document into an email and send it automatically. The bits I’m confused about are that I don’t know how to get the contents of a text document, and I don’t know how to define the content of a new mail message as what I’ve gotten from the previous step. (Basically I’m hopeless!) This is a lot to ask, but any tips on how to get started, or a script someone else has already written that could be altered, would be much appreciated!

Using what email client?

Hi Rose of Sharon

try the below script, it is set up to run with Apples Mail app, you will need to get the path to your text file, also you will need to add the email address of the person the mail is going to, you can save the script as a application run only and have say iCal fire it of once a week for you.

tell application “System Events” to tell process “Mail”
keystroke “n” using command down

---- Get text from your text file ----
set theFile to "Macintosh HD:Users:Budgie:Desktop:untitled folder:test.txt" as text --path to yor text file
open for access theFile
set fileContents to (read theFile)
close access theFile
tell application "Finder" to set fileName to name of alias theFile

---- Create your email ----
set theAddress to "email address here" --email address to whom mail is to be sent
set theSubject to "Scheduled Weeky Text     " & fileName --name of your text file
set TheBody to fileContents --contents of your text file
tell application "Mail"
	activate
	set newMessage to make new outgoing message with properties {subject:theSubject, content:TheBody}
	tell newMessage