Trigger Applescript on Quit

I was wondering how possible it would be to have an applescript to trigger on an application’s quit. I googled it extensively and couldn’t really find anything. It seems like a basic operation, but maybe this goes beyond the reach of applescript or possibly its just so simple i couldn’t find it documented anywhere. I am very new to applescript, but i wanted to create something that would automatically delete files in iTunes that were located on a smart playlist (kind of like a trash bin that would empty itself when i quit iTunes). I’ve seen some similar Applescripts but none of this exact specification, but the idea makes sense to me b/c iTunes would live update the smart playlist when iTunes was started and therefore delete the necessary files on quit. Anyway, just let me know if this is possible and give me some hints on the best way to implement it.

Model: iMac G5
AppleScript: 1.9.3
Browser: Safari 125.11
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.3.6)

I’m making a new post because I did some tinkering.
*Found out what a smart list is and they are not included in the scripting dictionary.

tell application "iTunes"
	try
		if (class of front window is browser window) or (class of front window is playlist window) then
			copy name of view of front window to playlist_name
		end if
	end try
	display dialog playlist_name as string--This is for visual confirmation

--delete playlist playlist_name (I took this out so you don't delete something on accident)

quit
end tell

This script grabs the play list in the itunes browser window or playlist window.
The tracks of the smart playlist I created would not recieve a delete message. They took other commands, play, etc. The playlist itself recieved the delete message, but that takes out the whole smartplaylist. There was no way to create a new smart playlist of the same name/ parameters after deleting because smartplaylist is not in iTunes dicitonary. Comments?
SC