Trouble using handlers

Greetings,

I’m relatively new to AppleScript. I’ve puttered about with some easy scripts, but now I’d like to try something a little more advanced. The problem is, I’m getting my butt kicked and I don’t know why.

I have a rather large HTML source page (from an online, browser- based game) in a Tex- Edit Plus 4.9.7 document (running on OS X.3.9) that I want to work with. Somewhere in this page there are six blocks of text I want to run two operations on apiece: first is finding the verifying the block, then sorting and counting the elements in the block.

This sounds like a job for a pair of handlers to me, but I can’t make them work. I can write the script without the handlers, and it will work, but it is not elegant, it’s a huge script, and it’s a mess to look at and change. I would very much like to get those handlers working.

The error I’m getting is:

AppleScript Syntax error
Expected ", " but found class name.

in the handler code block, keyed on the word “window” right after "if (search ". If I take the code out of the handler and stick it in the body of the script, everything is fine. Put it in a handler, and things go whacky in short order.

I would very much appreciate any help anyone could offer. Neither Script Editor nor Script Debugger (which I’m just trying out) seems to be of much help with this.

tell application "Tex-Edit Plus"
	activate

--Begin timing of the operation.  This is finished at the very end of the script
	set t to (time of (current date))

--These elements mark where, in the HTML source file, the related info starts
	set AmmoStartMarker to "<form name=\"takeammo\" method=\"post\" action=\"/map/safe.do\">"

--These variables initialize the text fields
	set AmmoText to ""

--Window 1 contains the HTML source
	set name of window 1 to "SourceWindow"

FindInventoryBlock("SourceWindow", AmmoStartMarker, "Ammo block") of me

--Finish timing evaluation
	set total to (time of (current date)) - t