Upgraded to Mac OS Server 10.6 and an old script no longer works.

Hello,

Hopefully some one here will be able to help out as I’m pulling my hair out. I’m an Applescript novice at best.

I wrote the following script some years ago to do a very lo-tech backup system of files off our xserve to an external hard drive. It has worked fine for three years, but since upgrading the server software to 10.6 it has ceased to work, stopping with a time out error. “Backup” is the name of the external hard drive.

Any ideas? The first section (delete old folder) still works fine, it’s timing out after that, and never creates the new folder or does any copying.

Thanks so much in advance for any help you can give.

--Backup Script Version 3 30/6/08

set never_end to false

repeat until never_end is true

set time_now to time string of (current date)

if time_now contains "8:30:" and time_now contains "PM" then

--delete old folder
		set backup_alias to "Backup:" as alias
		tell application "Finder" to set full_list to get (name of folders of backup_alias)
		repeat with i from 1 to number of items in full_list
			if (item i of full_list as string) contains "backup" then
				tell application "Finder" to move ("Backup:" & item i of full_list as alias) to trash
			end if
		end repeat
		tell application "Finder" to empty trash
		delay 1800

-- do backup
		set new_folder to {"Backup "} & short date string of (current date) as string
		tell application "Finder" to make new folder at "Backup:" with properties {name:new_folder}
		set back_up to "Backup:" & new_folder as alias

with timeout of 36000 seconds

tell application "Finder" to copy folder "XServe:Server:Guidelines" to folder back_up
			delay 300

tell application "Finder" to copy folder "XServe:Server:Admin" to folder back_up
			delay 300

tell application "Finder" to copy folder "XServe:Server:Artwork" to folder back_up
			delay 300

tell application "Finder" to copy folder "XServe:Server:Concept" to folder back_up
			delay 300