Upload File and Email - Newbie

I am very new to Applescript, I will continue to look around these forums and try things for myself… but I thought I would post what I’m trying to accomplish. If you have any ideas, suggestions, or code to contribute I would appreciate it.

I need to create an Applet that I can drop files onto.

1. When the file is dropped, it should prompt the user for their name.
  2. After that, prompt for any comments to add.
  3. Rename the file to the date (Jan 28 2006) + another word (Videocast) [filename: “Jan 28 2006 Videocast”]
  4. Move the file to a certain folder on the computer
  5. Upload the movie to a specified FTP location (using a favorites in Transmit)
  6. When the upload is complete, send an email (using an account in Mail) with the user name and comments in the body of the message. Or likewise send an error email if the file wasn’t uploaded.

Can anyone give me some hints, parts of scripts, or other help?

If you are an expert Applescripter and know how to do this, I am willing to pay someone to write it. Email me at tomgreever@communitychristian.org and we can discuss it.

Thanks!

Hi tom,

I currently have a working script that does exactly this.
I’ve also, at a previous job created the same script.
Here is the current script I am using…

display dialog "Would you like to email Final edits, FTP/Email final PDF, or send a Proof?" buttons {"Final edits", "FTP/Email final PDF", "Proof"} default button "Proof"

set ans to the button returned of the result

if the ans is "Proof" then
	set pdf to choose file with prompt "Please select the PDF to be emailed to the IHT..."
	set AppleScript's text item delimiters to ":"
	set mailsubj to (get last text item of (pdf as string)) as string
	tell application "Mail"
		set newmsg to make new outgoing message with properties {subject:"PDF " & (mailsubj) & " attached.", content:"Waiting for edits." & return & return & "Thank You." & return}
		tell newmsg