Using Applescript from within FMPRO to change file names

I need an Applescript that can be called from within a FMPro script to change the name of an external file. Specifically I plan to set up a FMPro script to export a set of records to a file, then change the file name before exported the next set of records to the original file name. I am still using FMPro 6.0 which allows me to specify the file name within the script, but does not let me change it without using a dialogue window. To complicate matters, I need to be able to identify the new file name from a field within the FMPro database.

I am a rank amateur with Applescript. Thanks for any help you can offer.

Charlie

I’m not overly familiar with FM 6, but this should work…

For this example I have a file on my desktop called oldFileName.zip. Then I have a FileMaker database with two fields and only one record as shown below.

Record 1
cell: new file name value: newFileName.zip
cell: old file name value: oldFileName.zip

Then within FileMaker I created a native AppleScript with the following contents.

set deskPath to path to desktop as string
set {oldName, newName} to {cell "old file name", cell "new file name"} of current record
tell application "Finder" to set name of alias (deskPath & oldName) to newName

I ran the script and the file renamed without a problem.

Hope that helps!

Hmmm… I must be doing something wrong.

I created the FMPro database with one record and two fields as you indicated. Then I opened Scriptmaker in FMPro and created a script that had one step to perform an Applescript script. Inside it, I pasted your script. When I tried to run it, I got an error message that deskPath was not defined.

Charlie

Put his script in a Finder tell block, I recall FileMaker being picky about explicit context. I’d test it but am in the middle of a bunch of stuff…