using applescript to edit IPTC data?

Dear List,

This is my first posting and I hope it is on topic.

I am a photographer using Photoshop (CS1 ) and have a query that I hope some of you experts may be able to solve! It’s very simple, but I’m not a programmer so I need some guidance. I would like to be able to copy a file name (of a tiff, jpg or RAW file and paste it into the transmission reference field displayed in the file browser (and I assume other applications displaying IPTC data).

Is there an available script that could be used perhaps with Automator that could do this as a batch command? I could have up to several hundred files to do at a time - doing this by hand probably isn’t fun!

Best wishes,

Paul

That’s totally on topic.

You can set metadata tags using the metadata tag class of Image Events’ Image suite. Or you can script Photoshop. If you don’t know how to write applescript, you can usually find answers to the really common issues like this by googling.

This should help…
http://www.creativepro.com/story/feature/22897.html

Thanks for this - downloaded the CS action pack and the IPTC editor action does work and copies the file name to a few fields. I would like to add another field if possible (transmission reference) to the choices available and idealy copy the name without the file extension. Are the scripts contained within the pack easily editable and would this be easy for a novice applescripter?!

Thanks,

Paul

Paul, what fields do you want to add data to and will most of this be the same with the exception of transmission reference field? I have a batch script for this but its at home. Here is just a basic example you can run on an open file. Setting up a batch script to run on a folder of images is fairly straight forward.

-- TodaysDate as Shell yyyy mm dd the date has to be in this format to work correctly
set TodaysDate to do shell script "date \"+%Y %m %d\""
tell application "Adobe Photoshop CS"
	activate