using applescript to parse parameter to Application

Hi - I’m brand new to applescript and uncertain if I can use applescript to solve following problem: :confused:
I want to open an executable file (*.osx - made with Director) & parse a parameter to this application using applescript?
Unfortunately I did’t find a solution jet - I just can run the application, but can’t parse any parameters?
My script so far:

tell application "Finder"
	activate
	select file "index.osx" of folder "test" of disk "CDR"
	open selection
end tell

If there isn’t a way - what 'd you suggest doing? I’m trying to avoid having 50 different executable starter-files - each one would be about 5 MB - Which takes too much space on a CDR… Compiled Applescripts are much smaller…
Thanks for any suggestions!
Wommi

Hi Wommi,

You can open applications/scripts and passing arguments by using the do shell script command. Here is an example that uses a bogus argument:

set filepath to "/Volumes/CDR/test/index.osx"
do shell script "open " & quoted form of filepath & " -size 500x600"

But of course, your application/scripts (index.osx) needs to support/accept passed arguments.

Thanks Martin - but unfortunately I can’t make it working - I’m not sure what I’m doing wrong because I’m brand new to this…
So I think it might help to describe what I was doing:
I was trying to run the script in the “Script Editor” using the “Run”-button - To limit the chances of errors I’ve taken out all paths:

set filepath to "/index.osx"
do shell script "open " & quoted form of filepath & " -size 500x600"

As result I’m getting a pop-up by the Script-Editor - it seems like AppleScript doesn’t allow me to add any parameters?:

I was trying another way too:

set filepath to "index.osx"
set para to " -hallo"
do shell script "open " & quoted form of filepath & quoted form of para

But the result was an error too:

this means, the file index.osx must exist on the top level of the startup disk