Using AppleScript to show an Alert when a specific USB Drive is disconnected

I am putting this here for anyone wanting to do the same thing I needed to do. It looks daunting but it’s actually easy. The steps just make this look long. I’m not a coder and I’ve never used AppleScript or launchd before so this is a cut/paste/modify situation. I apologize if the scripting is bad. Here are my references:

Backstory:
I have two Mac Minis with a Dual Monitor setup. One is my workhorse (Plex Server, Video Editing, Photoshop, etc) and the other is for the family. I have a USB Hub attached to a USB Switch so I can switch my Accessories (Keyboard, USB Drives, Printer, etc) to the computer I’m using. Although it will be rare, I wanted a way for my family to know when the Keyboard, specifically, wasn’t connected to their computer so they know to switch it back. Since my 3TB External HD is on the same Hub, it made sense that trying to detect it was the easiest way for me to accomplish my task.

[Video Example:](USB Drive removed shows an Alert)

PLIST File:
Using Craig’s tutorial I created a PLIST file and placed it in /Users/YOURNAME/Library/LaunchAgents. It is named WatchCB.plist (just like Craigs):

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
    <key>Disabled</key>
    <false/>
    <key>Label</key>
    <string>WatchingVolumesPath</string>
    <key>LowPriorityIO</key>
    <true/>
    <key>Program</key>
    <string>/usr/bin/osascript</string>
    <key>ProgramArguments</key>
    <array>
        <string>osascript</string>
        <string>/Users/YOURNAME/Documents/SWITCH/USBDetect.scpt</string>
    </array>
    <key>ServiceDescription</key>
    <string>Runs Applescript directly when Volumes Path changes</string>
    <key>StandardOutPath</key>
    <string>/Users/YOURNAME/Documents/SWITCH/USBLog.txt</string>
    <key>WatchPaths</key>
    <array>