using chown recursivly on top level folder

Hello,
I am a newbie to applescript, just putting it out there so everyone knows. I have a folder structure of /users/user/desktop/hot folders/“and then about 75 sub folders within sub folders within sub folders from here”. The following script works as long as I give an absolute path (e.g /Users/user/Desktop/Hot Folders/Roland/3600_xp_3200fast) in the do shell script section and then apply the script to the folder roland.
What I need to accomplish is one of two things: use a variable in place of the absolute path (this way I can use one script and apply it too all folders that need it) or even better would be to run the script on folder “hot folders” and alter the script so anytime any file is added to any folder under the folder hot folder the chown command runs on the newly added item. Can anyone help me please? This script is a mixture of one’s I’ve found online.

on adding folder items to this_folder after receiving added_items
tell application “Finder”
set fold_name to the name of this_folder
try
repeat with i from 1 to number of items in added_items
set new_item to item i of added_items
set the item_path to the quoted form of the POSIX path of new_item
do shell script "chown -R newowner /Users/user/Desktop/Hot Folders/Roland/3600_xp_3200fast user name “user” password “password” with administrator privileges
end repeat
on error error_message number error_number
if the error_number is not -128 then
tell application “Finder”
activate
display dialog error_message buttons {“Cancel”} default button 1 giving up after 120
end tell
end if
end try
end tell
end adding folder items to

Hi,

easiest solution, the owner of every added item to the hot folder will be changed

repeat with oneItem in added_items
		do shell script "/usr/sbin/chown -R newowner " & quoted form of POSIX path of oneItem user name "user" password "password" with administrator privileges
	end repeat