Using Skim to Crop PDF into Defined Segments

Dear MacScripters,

Full Discolsure - I am a Noob

Every day I receive a rail timetable - It’s my job to transpose the data into an Excel Spreadsheet. The timetable is uniform in layout, and if I could crop set areas each into separate PDF files I could extract the text from those areas and infer the data.

As Preview isn’t scriptable :rolleyes:, I’m trying to use Skim, but haven’t got very far (basically nowhere).

Could anyone kick me off? Let’s suppose I have a A4 PDF open and I want to crop out a box 100px by 100px, 50px by 50px in from the top left corner, and open that cropped section as a new PDF.

Any help gratefully received,

Ben

Hey Ben,

I’m not acquainted with scripting Skim, but it appears to have possibilities:

set AppleScript's text item delimiters to linefeed & linefeed
tell application "Skim"
	tell front document
		set _text to text of pages 6 thru 8 as text
	end tell
end tell

It looks like the command-line tool pdftotext does a better job of formatting the output though.

http://www.bluem.net/files/pdftotext.dmg

If your pdf is not locked and the data you need is regular enough, it should be easy enough to parse it out.

You may try with this code :

tell application "Skim"
	tell document 1
		# set {yTop, yBottom, xRight, xLeft} to get bounds for page 1
		set {rectWidth, rectHight} to {100, 100}
		# set cropBounds to {yTop, rectHight, rectWidth, xLeft}
		set cropBounds to {0, rectHight, rectWidth, 0}
		grab page 1 for cropBounds as PDF
	end tell
	set the clipboard to result
end tell
my activateguiscripting()
my selectmenu("Skim", 3, 1)

#=====

on activateguiscripting()
	(* to be sure than GUI scripting will be active *)
	tell application "System Events"
		if not (UI elements enabled) then set (UI elements enabled) to true
	end tell
end activateguiscripting

#=====
(*
my selectMenu("Pages",5, 12)
==== Uses GUIscripting ====
*)
on selectmenu(theApp, mt, mi)
	activate application theApp