Very basic applescript question.

hi guys, I’m a seasoned developer but a noob at applescript. I have a web app that generates some applescript that I want my visitors to download and run and have some problems

running my web applications I hit a link in the app that references the script like

regular script app script
  1. if I create a regular script file its downloaded to the desktop but then the client has to run it using the script editor
  2. if I create a application script like myscript.app it is not downloaded properly - in firefox 2.0 it appends .exe to the end (bug?) if I option click the file in firefox or safari I get a warning its a binary file and and asks me if i want to run launch it, once I say yes the scripts’ icon changes to a “stop” sign and osx tells me I can run the script “myscript” beacuse its not supported by the system.

can someone help, its driving me nuts :slight_smile:

Grant

What problem are you attempting to solve? Why do you need to generate custom scripts for visitors? This methodology seems highly strange.

Compress them into a zip file.

regular script (compress)

Zip is the most diffuse method for compress files. No browser problem, no virus detected, no strange message.
if you want, inser the description

“Please, unzip the file for execute it”

Bye

Mikey san, I agree it seems a little strange :slight_smile:

My web application is an asset ingest system for video, the videos are put on a shared drive on the web server that the client osx based machines can access through a shared mount. What my client wants is when a client machine accesses the web app through the browser, they can click on a link that will open the finder pointing to the shared folder so for example

support we have a mapped drive of

/shared/assets/asset1/

/shared/assets/asset2/

shared/assets/asset3/

etc…

in the browser there is a html table with the different asset descriptions, how many videos there are per asset folder etc…