Very new to Applescript and need some help

I have never used Applescript before and I have a project I am not even sure is possible.

I am a photographer and when I get my film scanned (yes I still use film) and get the files back I have to convert them all to a PSD file with certain adjustment layers on them and delete the original jpeg.

I want to write a script that does the following:
-Accepts a dropped folder OR set of files
-Opens the first file in Photoshop
-Adds a levels layer, curves layer, and color balance layer OR runs a custom PS action I have set up OR sends a key code to PS to make that action run.
-Saves the file to the same location as the file it opened (not imperative to save in that location, but it would be nice) OR creates a new folder on the desktop and saves them there
-Closes the file
-Deletes the original file
-Opens the next file and repeats

Is this even possible? Or something close? Where should I look to start learning how to do this?

Absolutely anything is possible with AppleScript!

If you need help with scripting Photoshop, drag Photoshop’s icon (not the Dock icon if you have one!) onto Script Editor’s icon (or AppleScript Editor in Snow Leopard/Lion). There you will find documentation on how to script Photoshop. (I don’t actually use Photoshop, so I don’t know whether or not it supports AppleScript.) If there’s no dictionary, there are alternate methods, so don’t fret!

Well, almost anything is possible :wink:

The script you’re asking for is almost certainly doable, and Photoshop is highly scriptable. But in my opinion you’ve chosen one hell of a challenge if this is your first real script. Personally I’m a little overwhelmed by the amount of scripting commands available in Photoshop, and so far I’ve been able to use Aperture for my image scripting needs.