watched folder, then send email..... help please

hi all

I’m very new to applescript, and could really do with a shade of help.

I would like to be able to have a “watched folder” and when I dump .pdf files inside this folder, I would like to fire-up my email software (currently Outlook Express) and send an email to my client telling him to access the “watched folder” (on our network)…

I know you are all thinking, why not just email my client the .pdf files… well his email software is so old our attachments get corrupted and/or go missing… can anyone help point me in the right direction…?

I have found some applescript examples on this discussion forum but I can’t get them to work properly…

I’m using OS 9.2.2

cheers ears

Az
:cry:

…forgot to add, this is what I’ve got so far…

set the_recipient to “testing@myEmailAddress.com
set the_subject to “please check this”
set the_content to “hi there, your files are waiting”

on adding folder items to myFolder after receiving added_items
repeat with each in added_items
tell application “Outlook Express”
make new draft window with properties ¬
{to recipients:the_recipient, subject:the_subject, content:the_content}
save window 1
send front window
end tell
end repeat
end adding folder items to

what am I doing wrong? as It doesn’t work, I keep getting an error -2753

Az

Many time since last time I scripted Outlook, but perhaps this can help you:

make new draft window at out box folder with properties...

This works for me on 8.6 thru 9.2 running OE 5

I think the source of your error was when you set your variables for email address, subject, and recipient, you did it outside of the event handler. I got the same error but after moving that within the handler it worked fine.

Hope this helps,

(*
set the_recipient to "testing@myEmailAddress.com"
set the_subject to "please check this"
set the_content to "hi there, your files are waiting"*)