When "App" closed then open "file" script needed....

Hi All. Hopefully someone will be able to help me. I am completely new to scripting - in fact I am not a fan it as it sends my brain into meltdown however I know others think differently and I bow to you. Grovelling over.

I am a cameraman for a news broadcaster and we often do lives by connecting our camera’s to the mac and feeding pictures back to base via a software streaming app. To do this we have to physically change the settings on our cameras to lower resolution and one only channel of audio. Often when in a rush (we are a lot sadly) we can forget to reset the camera back again. What I am looking for is a way so whenever the streaming software is quit a .pdf or .jpg pops up on the screen immediately to remind us (me) to switch the camera back again.

I presume this can be scritped but have no idea where to start. I hope that is enough for someone to point me in the right direction.

Thanks

flooperman

This can definitely be done and a simple dialog box that won’t go away until you acknowledge it would be the messenger (even frantic beeping or a voice if you prefer). To accomplish this, you need to detect that the streaming app is no longer running. What’s the name of the app?

Wow. A beeping box would be great. Presumably I can customise what the box says too? The app is called ‘Encoder’ (Encoder.app)

Model: MacBookPro
Browser: Safari 533.22.3
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.5)

What you need is called an “on idle” script – not the only way, but most direct. Something like the script below. If you’re not familiar with this board, you get the script below into your script editor by clicking on the blue link just above the script that says “Open this scriptlet in your editor”.