Where do I put try on error block?

Hello,
Semi-newbie here. I am scripting alot more, but perhaps not better, or cleaner. Anyway, I’ve written the following script in order to concatenate a particular set of pdfs into complete documents. In order for the script to work, two docs have to exist on the desktop, so I put these into properties.

property FileTypeList : {"PDF "}
property CORE_Pdf : (path to desktop as string) & "AMC_Exported_LoRes_PDFs:AMC-005_CORE.pdf"
property CORE_Span_PDF : (path to desktop as string) & "AMC_Exported_LoRes_PDFs:AMC-005_CORE_SPAN.pdf"
property myCompletedFolder : (path to desktop as string) & "Completed_AMC_PDFs:"

set theseItems to (choose file)
set theseItems to theseItems as list
--on open theseItems WILL TURN THIS INTO A DROPLET LATER
tell application "Finder"
	set CORE_is_there to CORE_Pdf as alias
	set CORE_Span_is_there to CORE_Span_PDF as alias
	if not (exists CORE_is_there or CORE_Span_is_there) then
		display dialog "You need to have made a PDF of the English CORE document AND the Spanish CORE document. If you have used the droplet called \"Americhoice_Lo_Res_PDFs.app\", they should be in a folder called \"AMC_Exported_LoRes_PDFs\" on your desktop. If not there, create a folder called \"AMC_Exported_LoRes_PDFs\" on your desktop and place BOTH CORE pdfs in it. This application will now quit." buttons {"OK"}

else
				repeat with thisitem in theseItems
			--tell application "Finder"
			if not (exists folder myCompletedFolder) then
				make new folder at desktop with properties {name:"Completed_AMC_PDFs"}
			end if
			set thisItemInfo to info for thisitem

try
				set thisFiletype to the file type of thisItemInfo
			on error
				set thisFiletype to ""
			end try

if thisFiletype is not in the FileTypeList then
				display dialog "You must drop an AMC pdf on me in order to continue."
			else
				my processItems(thisitem)
			end if
		end repeat
	end if
end tell
--end open

on processItems(thisitem)