Why is my script not adding all dropped items to the list?

I have used these “on open” scripts for years to streamline file management tasks. For some reason lately I am getting this problem where the “on open” is not adding all items to the list it creates.

Here you can see I am clearly dropping 8 AIs but it only counts 4.

On top of this, these 8 AIs are 2 sets of 4. The 2nd set has a “copy” appended to the name (and modified slightly). If I drop the 2 sets separately, they work just like normal.

Am I doing something wrong?

A sample of your script would be nice.

I am sure full of other errors but it has worked for years until this issue. I am not a professional coder, I just hack together what works until it doesn’t, then I get stuck.

global save_folder
global yes_count
global mult
global trimpixels

on open these_items
	display dialog (count these_items) -- this is the count making me believe "on open" is not working correctly
	set mult to choose from list {1, 2, 3, 4, 5} with prompt "Size multiplier:" default items 1
	set trimpixels to (button returned of (display dialog "Trim image?" buttons {"Yes", "No"} default button 2))

tell application "Finder"
		-- save folder location
		set this_folder to (container of (item 1 of these_items)) as string
		set parent_folder to (container of (alias this_folder)) as string
		set parent_folder to parent_folder as alias

try
			tell me to set save_folder to (choose folder with prompt "Choose the PSD folder." default location parent_folder) as string
			set parent_folder to save_folder as alias
			set parent_folder to (container of alias save_folder) as string
			set parent_folder to parent_folder as alias
		on error err
			display dialog err
			return -- end program
		end try
	end tell

-- set some variables
	set yes_count to 0
	set file_count to count of these_items

-- main process loop
	repeat with this_item in these_items
		tell application "Finder" to set this_ext to name extension of this_item as string