Working on BBS

Let me start by saying that I’m a total newbie to scripting. With that said, I need help with this folder action script that I am working on which contains script that I copied from another one and then modified to suit my purposes. This folder action script imports any images added to a folder into my iPhoto library, which works fine. Then I added the tell statement at the end to delete the files after the import. What ends up happening is that the folder containing the photos gets deleted, not just the photos inside. I obviously don’t want that. Here’s the script:

on adding folder items to this_folder after receiving these_items
	set this_item to this_folder

-- convert the file reference to UNIX style
	set this_path to the POSIX path of this_item
	-- bring the target application to the front
	tell application "iPhoto"
		activate
		try
			tell application "System Events"
				tell process "iPhoto"
					-- summon the import dialog
					click menu item "Import…" of menu "File" of menu bar 1
					-- enter the path to the image in the dialog input
					set the value of text field 1 of group 1 of group 2 of window "Import Photos" to this_path
					delay 1
					-- click to start the import
					click button "Import" of window "Import Photos"
					if the last character of (this_item as string) is ":" then
						-- it's a folder so click the import button again
						click button "Import" of window "Import Photos"
					end if
				end tell
			end tell
		on error error_message
			display dialog error_message buttons {"OK"} default button 1
		end try
	end tell
	tell application "Finder"
		activate
		select contents of this_folder
		delete selection
		close container window of this_folder
	end tell
end adding folder items to